Awd Tuts Reviews Page

Awd Tuts Cottage reviews

Cottage reviews taken from our advertising sites

John & Emily
April 2019
4/5
A nice inviting place just off Church Street 
Private patio area with table and chairs but this would be better when the weather improves. There was just two of us here so we had the whole place to ourselves which was good. 

Response from the owner
Thanks John and Emily – review appreciated

 

The Upcote family
April 2019
5/5
We’ll stay here again, we loved the place. What more can we say?
The kids had a great time and hopefully we’ll be back in the not too distant future

Response from the owner
Thank you for your nice review, we hope you’ll be back again too 🙂

 

Jenni Scott
Feb 2019
5/5
Enjoyable time  was had by all at Awd Tuts. We were happy to be in the centre of the old town as many cottages are out in the sticks. The cottage was nice and warm on arrival with tea coffee etc in the kitchen, great. We will come back here again.
Response from the owner
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you back again

 

Hayley Nolan

Dec 2018

4/5

We had a great stay at Awd Tuts. Location was fantastic, close to everything. The cottage was lovely, and super clean. Hosts were welcoming and provided good local info. We would stay again.

Response from the owner
Many thanks for your kind review and happy to hear that we may see you again in the future. Repeat custom is what we strive to achieve.

 

 

Megan Lambert

Oct 2018

4/5

We stayed in Awd Tuts Cottage for a week in October just leaving on 20th Oct.
The cottage is in the Old Town of Whitby really close to the harbour and a small beach. It’s right in the centre of town with all amenities, bars, restaurants

Response from the owner
Thanks for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our drinks discount card too. It does get used often. Hope to see you again sometime.

Florence Lilleker

Sept 2018

4/5

A wonderful cottage. Placed well for all amenities.

Response from the owner
Thank you for your comment Florence – glad you enjoyed the cottage and location

Simon Lane

Aug 2018

5/5

Response from the owner
Many thanks for the 5* rating Simon – much appreciated

Aug 2018

Robert Jones

5/5

Response from the owner

Many thanks for the 5* rating Robert – it is appreciated by us

Eric Lambert

Oct 2018

4/5

Google review

We stayed in Awd Tuts Cottage for a week in October just leaving on 20th Oct.
The cottage is in the Old Town of Whitby really close to the harbour and a small beach. It’s right in the centre of town with all amenities, bars, restaurants and shops close by. The owners even loan you a Drinks Discount Card for the nearby Rowing Club which can give you up to 60p off some pints and all other drinks. We used this quite a bit so it was a good saving for us. The cottage has 2 bedrooms and is well appointed. In the upper bedroom where we stayed there is an ensuite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Below in the 2nd bedroom there are two beds, a double and a single and this bedroom is right next to the family bathroom.
There is a SKY Freesat viewing box, wide screen TV and Broadband Wi-Fi which is free of charge.
The owners informed us there is soon to be a kitchen renovation although we thought the one that’s there now was OK. We would definitely stay here again. We had no complaints at all. The owners were on hand if needed, considerate and knowledgeable. Booking was done easily via the owner’s website and credit cards accepted if that’s how you want to pay. Not sure if they take pets as we don’t have one?
All in all, a great stay in Whitby and a good recommendation from us that the cottage is well worth considering if you are coming to Whitby.

Response from the owner a month ago

Thanks for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our drinks discount card too. It does get used often. Hope to see you again sometime.

Beautiful,gorgeous,quaint cottage in fab location

Aug 2017

5 out of 5

Was really looking forward to our stay at Aud Tuts Cottage after looking at the pics and prime location by the harbour and we weren’t disappointed at all! Fell in love with the little cottage and everything about it. I loved all the added extras like the wine on arrival being there for you to enjoy and put your money in the honesty box-loved that idea!

You wont need to take an iron, a hairdryer, tea towels , washing up liquid, toilet roll, handwash. There was even an ironing board, washing powder and even fishing nets and crabbing equipment!!!

The cottage was secure, VERY clean indeed, very well equipped and extremely cozy. I loved how it was literally right by the harbour and you can choose to get discounted drinks in the Rowing club next door or we actually took our own wine onto the little beach and watched the sun go down one night-It was so cute!

My 2 daughters aged 13 and 10 just took themselves off into the little cobbled streets to get holiday souvenirs as we were so close to the little town and I felt safe letting them wander around. We luckily had sunshine all week which was an added bonus.

So overall excellent facilities, fab location and will deffo return!

Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017

Date of Stay: August 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner’s Response: Thanks a lot for your kind review We’re happy you had a nice time and also glad you took advantage of our Rowing Club ‘Drinks Discount Card’. The card offers you about 50p per pint discount and discount on all other drinks served there too. It’s also so near you barely have to ‘stagger’ home 🙂 Hope you get back again in the future Best regards Mike & Louise

Steve W. said…

15 Jul 2017

Beautiful Whitby Cottage

Date of Stay

1 Jul 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

Very impressed with the cottage, it’s very close to the town and all the local attractions that Whitby has to offer which are many. It’s cost and warm, clean and everything you could want is there too. We want to come back again very soon

My Response

Thank you for your review We’re glad you found the cottage location a benefit to you. With it being pretty much in the centre of the ‘old town’ it has a fantastic location just a stones throw from the harbour and all amenities Cheers Mike & Louise

Guest reviews

Review of Awd Tuts Self Catering Cottage – well known in Whitby

Nicola C

Lovely as always

Left on Mar 15, 2017 for a stay in Mar 2017

We have been coming to this cottage now for a number of years, the cottage is always a home away from home, its perfectly situated in the centre of everything. We love this cottage and we carry on staying here for many years to come!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Your response:

“Thanks Nicola. Glad to hear that you’ll be back again. Hope you and Lee had a great birthday week at Awd Tuts. Cheers Mike”

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

“Lovely little cottage”

Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Reviews of Awd Tuts
Four of us have just returned from a visit to Whitby staying at Awd Tuts. We’ve stayed in a few cottages and apartments in Whitby and this is the first one that has had two double rooms so no fighting over who’s got the singles.

There is also one room with en-suite and a separate bathroom so no queuing to use the facilities before a night out. The cottage is in a good location handy for the shops and bars.

The communication with the owners was good, and it was nice to have a phone call while we were there from Mike to check everything was going well. We would definitely stay in this cottage again in the near future.

Management Response

26 Jul 2016

Thanks very much Alison. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you’d come back again. You’re welcome.
Regards
Mike & Louise

 Trip Advisor Reviews for Awd Tuts Cottage

Lesley M

Durham, United Kingdom

Level Contributor

3 reviews

3 hotel reviews

2 helpful votes

“Perfect, ‘home from home’ cottage”

Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Reviews taken from Trip Advisor

A beautiful cottage in a great location. Very clean and well equipped. Information files really useful. Wifi is a bonus for those who use it. Had a wonderful stay and would recommend to couples and families

Management Response

14 Jun 2016

Many thanks Lesley for your review. Glad you enjoyed the use of the Wi-Fi broadband. Hope to have you stay again sometime. Maybe check out the offers pages on our own website.

David H

Level Contributor

5 reviews

“Perfect cottage, great location”

Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage was clean and well equipped. We were a family of three adults, and there was enough room for us all to feel comfortable.
Excellent kitchen facilities, so we had the option of preparing proper meals. Loved the power shower on the top floor and my son recommends the jacuzzi bath.

The location is fantastic, in the heart of the old town and close to the Abbey. The only negative was the noise at night from the rowing club across the alley. This didn’t affect us in the top bedroom but slightly disturbed our son on the first floor.

The communication from the owners was very good, clear directions on how to get there, and a courtesy call on the day we arrived.
A

Management Response

3 Jun 2016

Many thanks for your nice review David. Glad you enjoyed the cottage and would recommend it to others too. Glad you found all of our info and directions suitable. We sometimes get accused of sending too much info but better to be prepared than not we say.
Thanks again 🙂
Mike & Louise

Reviews taken from Trip Advisor

Liz G

Barnsley, United Kingdom

“Still perfect”

Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We returned for our second visit on a very wet and cold Easter Saturday, as we walked up the steps and in through the door it felt just like coming home. Everything was clean and tidy, as before, and we soon had our belongings unpacked and put away ready for our week to begin.

The bedrooms are very welcoming and have plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. My son and daughter in law used the top floor room but I made frequent use of the en suite shower in there, its just the best and none of us who used it wanted to leave.
The younger members of our party raved about the jacuzzi bath and I must say it looked very inviting. They were also very pleased to see dvds, books and a few games left for there enjoyment, mostly though they appreciated the wifi access!
This year, for a very small fee, we were able to bring my grandsons dog and made frequent use of the dog friendly beach, there were always several animals and their owners but no mess and no problems.
We didn’t eat out at all so can’t comment on the many pubs,cafes and restaurants but we did use the takeaways and my son (the pizza aficianado) highly recommends Pizza Figaro, situated near the Tourist Information Centre, as being 1 of the best he has ever used, high praise indeed.
The highlight of every evening for us, especially my 5 year old grandson and myself, was wave watching below the Abbey cliff, the sheer power and beauty of the sea against the rocks was mesmerising
All in all, despite the frequent rain, we had a wonderful and relaxing time and will definitely be back at Whitby, and Awd Tuts cottage for many years to comeLiked best: The welcoming atmosphere

Liked least: coming home!

Travelling group: Extended Family

Your age range 50-64

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.

Management Response

13 Apr 2016

Many thanks for your nice review Liz. The Wi-Fi does seem to be better for the kids than the adults doesn’t it? You were here for some good ‘rough sea’ weather this time, it’s fantastic watching the big waves smash their way in to shore. Hope to see you again.
Regards
Mike & Louise

rgilly201…

Sheffield, United Kingdom

1 review

1 helpful vote

“Lovely cottage, everything we needed, ideally situated.”

Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

1

person found this review helpful

Lovely weekend at Awd Tuts cottage. Weather was great. The cottage is ideally situated in the old town, close to the 199 steps down a charming little ally which leads to the sea and a small beach when the tide is out.
Some previous comments were that it was quite noisy due to being close to a social club, however this didnt bother us at all. Also has its own yard which can be secured at night… we will definitely be staying again x

Trip Advisor Awd tuts COTTAGE Review

Management Response

26 Mar 2016

Many thanks Rachael for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was ‘kind’ while you were there. Hope to see you again sometime.
Regards
Mike & Louise

brian5120…

Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom

1 review

“Aud Tuts Cottage,great place to stay in Whitby”

Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Aud Tuts Cottage set in Whitby old town is a great place to stay. Run by friendly and helpful people. The cottage was very clean and comfortable all round from kitchen to bedrooms, bathrooms spotless, down stairs was the utility room again well fitted out (washing machine small freezer etc.).

There were bikes for visitor use even a couple of kids fishing nets . Set just a couple of minutes away from Tate Beach and Abbey steps. All in all a great place to stay for a good time in Whitby. Given the opportunity we will be back. Management Response

21 Feb 2016

Nice to hear you’d come back. We’re glad we’re Friendly and Helpful, always what we love to hear. Glad you enjoyed yourselves

Adventuro…

Middlesbrough

Level Contributor

3 reviews

2 helpful votes

“Lovely home from home”

Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage feels like home as soon add you walk in the door. It’s compact but cosy and with enough room for 5 guests. Everything was clean and tidy & the bedrooms were well presented and homely. The shower in the master bedroom was spacious enough for 2 people which is great as you usually find that showers in hotels & b&b’s are lacking in space. The skylight in the bathroom was the only thing I would say needed an extra dusting.

Management Response

18 Dec 2015

Thank you for your review. Glad you felt the cottage was ‘homely’.
The walk in shower is a good size, that room having just been recently renovated.