Awd Tuts Reviews Page

Awd Tuts Reviews

Nicola C
 
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago for a stay in March 2017

We have been coming to this cottage now for a number of years, the cottage is always a home away from home, its perfectly situated in the centre of everything. We love this cottage and we carry on staying here for many years to come!

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?   Yes.
Less
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thanks Nicola. Glad to hear that you’ll be back again.
Hope you and Lee had a great birthday week at Awd Tuts.
CheersMike
 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
 

Awd Tuts Reviews


Ali64Durham
Durham
Awd Tuts Reviews
 

Lovely little cottage

 

Left on Jul 25, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016

Four of us have just returned from a visit to Whitby staying at Awd Tuts. We’ve stayed in a few cottages and apartments in Whitby and this is the first one that has had two double rooms so no fighting over who’s got the singles! and also one room with en-suite and a separate bathroom so no queuing to use the facilities before a night out. The cottage is in a good location handy for the shops and bars. The communication with the owners was good, and it was nice to have a phone call while we were there from Mike to check everything was going well. We would definitely stay in this cottage again in the near future.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“Thanks very much Alison. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you’d come back again. You’re welcome. Regards Mike & Louise”
Awd Tuts Reviews

Lesley M
Durham, United Kingdom
Awd Tuts Reviews

Perfect, ‘home from home’ cottage

 

Left on Jun 12, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016

A beautiful cottage in a great location. Very clean and well equipped. Information files really useful. Wifi is a bonus for those who use it. Had a wonderful stay and would recommend to couples and families
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“Many thanks Lesley for your review. Glad you enjoyed the use of the Wi-Fi broadband. Hope to have you stay again sometime. Maybe check out the offers pages on our own website.”

David H
 

Perfect cottage, great location

 

Left on Jun 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage was clean and well equipped. We were a family of three adults, and there was enough room for us all to feel comfortable. Excellent kitchen facilities, so we had the option of preparing proper meals. Loved the power shower on the top floor and my son recommends the jacuzzi bath. The location is fantastic, in the heart of the old town and close to the Abbey. The only negative was some noise at night from the rowing club across the alley. This didn’t affect us in the top bedroom but slightly disturbed our son on the first floor. The communication from the owners was very good, clear directions on how to get there, and a courtesy call on the day we arrived. A lovely character cottage, would thoroughly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“Many thanks for your nice review David. Glad you enjoyed the cottage and would recommend it to others too. Glad you found all of our info and directions suitable. We sometimes get accused of sending too much info but better to be prepared than not we say. Thanks again 🙂 Mike & Louise”

Liz G
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Awd Tuts Reviews

Still perfect

 

Left on Apr 12, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016

We returned for our second visit on a very wet and cold Easter Saturday, as we walked up the steps and in through the door it felt just like coming home. Everything was clean and tidy, as before, and we soon had our belongings unpacked and put away ready for our week to begin. The bedrooms are very welcoming and have plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. My son and daughter in law used the top floor room but I made frequent use of the en suite shower in there, its just the best and none of us who used it wanted to leave. The younger members of our party raved about the jacuzzi bath and I must say it looked very inviting. They were also very pleased to see dvds, books and a few games left for there enjoyment, mostly though they appreciated the wifi access! This year, for a very small fee, we were able to bring my grandsons dog and made frequent use of the dog friendly beach, there were always several animals and their owners but no mess and no problems. We didn’t eat out at all so can’t comment on the many pubs,cafes and restaurants but we did use the takeaways and my son (the pizza aficianado) highly recommends Pizza Figaro, situated near the Tourist Information Centre, as being 1 of the best he has ever used, high praise indeed. The highlight of every evening for us, especially my 5 year old grandson and myself, was wave watching below the Abbey cliff, the sheer power and beauty of the sea against the rocks was mesmerising All in all, despite the frequent rain, we had a wonderful and relaxing time and will definitely be back at Whitby, and Awd Tuts cottage for many years to come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“Many thanks for your nice review Liz. The Wi-Fi does seem to be better for the kids than the adults doesn’t it? You were there for some good ‘rough sea’ weather this time, it’s fantastic watching the big waves smash their way in to shore. Hope to see you again. Regards Mike & Louise”

Awd Tuts Reviews
rgilly2016
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Lovely cottage, everything we needed, ideally situated.

 Awd Tuts Reviews 

Left on Mar 19, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016

1 people found this review helpful
Lovely weekend at Awd Tuts cottage. Weather was great. The cottage is ideally situated in the old town, close to the 199 steps down a charming little ally which leads to the sea and a small beach when the tide is out. Some previous comments were that it was quite noisy due to being close to a social club, however this didnt bother us at all. Also has its own yard which can be secured at night… we will definitely be staying again x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awd Tuts Reviews Real reviews left by guests who have stayed at our cottages
Your response:
“Many thanks Rachael for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was ‘kind’ while you were there. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Mike & Louise”
brian512016
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Awd Tuts Reviews

Awd Tuts Cottage, great place to stay in Whitby

 

Left on Feb 12, 2016 for a stay in Feb 2016

Awd Tuts Reviews
Awd Tuts Cottage set in Whitby old town is a great place to stay. Run by friendly and helpful people. The cottage was very clean and comfortable all round from kitchen to bedrooms, bathrooms spotless, down stairs was the utility room again well fitted out (washing machine small freezer etc.). There were bikes for visitor use even a couple of kids fishing nets . Set just a couple of minutes away from Tate Beach and Abbey steps. All in all a great place to stay for a good time in Whitby. Given the opportunity we will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awd Tuts Reviews
Your response:
“Nice to hear you’d come back. We’re glad we’re Friendly and Helpful, always what we love to hear. Glad you enjoyed yourselves 😊”
Awd Tuts Reviews

Lovely home from home

 

Left on Dec 17, 2015 for a stay in Dec 2015

This cottage feels like home as soon add you walk in the door. It’s compact but cosy and with enough room for 5 guests. Everything was clean and tidy & the bedrooms were well presented and homely. The shower in the master bedroom was spacious enough for 2 people which is great as you usually find that showers in hotels & b&b’s are lacking in space. The skylight in the bathroom was the only thing I would say needed an extra dusting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“Thank you for your review. Glad you felt the cottage was ‘homely’. The walk in shower is a good size, that room having just been recently renovated. Hope to see you again sometime?”

Awd Tuts Reviews
jackijohn
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Awd Tuts Reviews

Fantastic

 Awd Tuts Reviews

Left on Jun 10, 2015 for a stay in Jun 2015

2 people found this review helpful
An amazing find!!! The whole experience was so easy and hassle free. Mike and Louise were in touch from the very beginning with all the information anyone could need. The whole process was totally pain free! The cottage is in a superb location, was spotlessly clean, tidy and very homely. Would definitely return. Thank you very much for a fantastic weekend!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your response:
“We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our old cottage. We would like to tell you that we had arranged all of the good weather for you too but maybe that’s stretching things a little ‘too far’! Thanks for your review and we’re happy that you had a great stay. Regards Mike & Louise”

Awd Tuts Reviews
 
Liz G
Barnsley, United Kingdom

Perfection

 

Left on Jun 7, 2015 for a stay in Jun 2015

1 people found this review helpful
I booked the cottage for myself and my 11 year old son but ended up taking my young grandson too and also had surprise guests of my daughter and son in law. From opening the door and stepping inside we were totally smitten, discovering that the much needed coffee, sugar and milk was all ready and waiting for us was just the icing on the cake. Every care wast taken to ensure our stay was perfect, there were books, games and dvds to suit most tastes, I particularly enjoyed reading the history of the cottage and the family of Awd Tut who lived there. The location was perfect, just a short walk to the beach, the Abbey steps and all the wonderful shops. The email directions to the cottage were so easy to follow we had no trouble whatsoever in finding it, in fact my son went ahead and was sitting on the steps waiting when I got there. We travelled by train and the cottage is just a 10 minute walk from the station I would recommend this cottage to anyone, although I also want to keep it my secret, and I intend to book again for next year just as soon as dates are available
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awd Tuts Reviews
Your response:
“Many thanks for your review. As you say, It is nice to have tea etc on hand when you arrive, the good old Yorkshire stuff too! It’s put hairs on many a mans (and womans) chests!!! We know it’s appreciated. We’re glad that you all enjoyed your stay and I’ve already got your email about rebooking. Prices staying the same so no big surprises to come. Regards Mike”

Awd Tuts Reviews